DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

So this is a 12x24 shed with two bays. The back 24' wall is sturdy, and the front is not. I didn't put up the last brace in the front on the left because I noticed it was wobbly. I used bigger braces in the back, possibly why its more sturdy. I'm trying to figure out a way to shore up the front better so there is no wobble to it. The front will remain open, the two sides and back will be sided with 1x6's. Any advice on what to do about the front wobble would be appreciated.

Disclaimer: This is my first time building anything, I now realize the posts should have been 6x6's and not 4x4's. I'm learning as I go.

·
retired framer
61,674 Posts
Are you planning on no walls.
You should have at least one full temp brace all sides from very low to very high on the next post.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Are you planning on no walls.
You should have at least one full temp brace all sides from very low to very high on the next post.
There will be 2x6 rafters with 1x4 purlins on top. Metal sheet roofing. The front will remain open, the sides and back will be sided with stained 1x6's. I'm not sure if it will tighten up with all that, and didn't want to get to much farther if I'm missing something.

·
retired framer
61,674 Posts
When you build the walls you will want to cut angled blocks and the act like an angle brace.
You just have to make sure the posts are plumb and brace them properly so you can continue with the roof. It's always better to build the walls first but it easier to get the angles and fit right if you do the roof first.
You might consider building the front down to the height of the back wall.

·
Registered
37,468 Posts
Are those just 4 X 4's?
Is the beam just face nailed to the post?
Is that just a board laying flat to rest the rafters on across the back lower side?