DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting here, hopefully you all can help me. I am remodeling my bathroom and I need help with the wiring. I have an existing light over the sink with an existing single switch.... everything works fine...flip the switch the light over the sink comes on. I have added a fart fan in the ceiling, and I wanted a separate switch to control the power going to it. I have tried so many combinations of wiring it to get it to work but still have not succeeded. I have made a diagram showing what I have, if someone could maybe download it and draw out what I need to do and then re-upload it that would be the best. However, if that wont work for you, I completely understand. Maybe you could explain it out. Anyways, thanks for reading my post. :)

Attachments

·
retired framer
49,114 Posts
The switches you want only have two screws.

In the switch box, the grounds are twisted together and attached to each switch as well as the screw in the back of the box. All three whites are nutted together.
The black from the wall or panel, nut it with two 6" pieces of black wire ( pig tail) join the pigtails to each to the switches. The black wires from the light and the fan one each to the switches.
At the light ground to ground and white to white and black to black, same at the fan.

·
Super Moderator
22,178 Posts
You can't do it. You do not have a neutral in the switch box. Your existing light is wired with a switch loop. Both wires are hot.

·
Very Stable Genius
4,654 Posts
Ya, if you only have 2 cables (with a black and white each) in the switch
box (1 cable from the light and the other from the fan) then @joed is correct.

If this is the case, one option would be to replace the 2 wire between the light
and switch with a 3 wire.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·