DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Wiring a 14 x 20 shed

318 Views 16 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  Leon276
Hello everyone. New guy here looking for some help. I have a 14 x 20 shed that I want to run electric to. It sits about 15 feet from my workshop. This is the wife's new she shed. I have a breaker panel in the workshop that I can use for this. I just need a good game plan as I have never done anything like this before. All I need are about 10 outlets, one light switch, and there will only be one light in it. It will also have a small a/c window unit and a small electric heater. It will also have plumbing after I finish this project. I did have an electrician come out and we went over everything so and there weren't any surprises or uh ohs. The estimate he came back with simply floored me so I want to see if I can do this myself. I live out in the country so I am not required to have any code inspections or permits. I'm not rushing anything because I want to make sure it's done right and in a safe manner. Any feedback is appreciated. If, after this I realize that I'm not really saving that much money by doing it myself or I feel like I am just way over my head then I'll just leave it to the professionals. One thing I realize now that I am retired is that I should have become a plumber or an electrician the moment I left high school!!

Thanks
Leon
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· A "Handy Husband"
14,916 Posts
Your requirements are small. I would run a 12/3 UF cable (direct bury at 24" cover), fed from a 20 amp 2 pole breaker in your workshop sub panel. This will effectively give you 2 20 amp circuits, it is called a MWBC (Multi wire branch circuit). Use 1 of the 20 amp circuits for the AC and the heater (they will not be run at the same time). Use the other 20 amp circuit for the lights and the rest pf the receptacles.

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·