DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to painting wood, although I have some experience painting walls.

I like to use white wood/metal paint or just simple glaze to give the wood a deeper color and sheen.

But no matter how much I sand it (with my Bosch professional sander), then wipe and wash it under water..

After I paint, once it's dry, it's always extremely grainy and no longer smooth.

If anyone could help me with this, I would appreciate it very much!

·
Stairguy
737 Posts
If you are using a water based latex paint the water in the paint will raise the grain. Some woods, such as southern yellow pine, will raise grain more than others. switch to an oil based paint and use a good primer also. After the 1st coat a light sanding with 220 grit sand paper will also help.

·
Too Short? Cut it Again!
9,634 Posts
It does sound like you are trying to skip the primer. This is especially important for new wood. I like solvent based alkyd primers designed as enamel underlays. You can paint either oil or latex finishes over them.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It does sound like you are trying to skip the primer. This is especially important for new wood. I like solvent based alkyd primers designed as enamel underlays. You can paint either oil or latex finishes over them.
Hah.

What is this "primer"? I'm not aware of it.

·
Too Short? Cut it Again!
9,634 Posts
Hah.

What is this "primer"? I'm not aware of it.
Primer has the sole purposes, in this case, of sealing the wood, blocking stains from knots, etc. and bonding a nice uniform layer of film to the surface. This film, especially if something like an enamel underlay, evens out the wood surfaces and provides something the paint will adhere too perfectly.

Typically, a professional paint job consists of a coat of primer and two coats of finish.