DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
have massive 70 x 30 patio in my back yard, it is always puddling water. We use as a basketball court and it makes it un-usable for 2 days every time it rains for an hour.

what are my options, can i just try putting a round 8" hole or so, in the center of where it puddles and put in a drain cover and hope the water will find its way down to the dirt under the slab?

Sky Basketball Basketball hoop Tree Road surface

Road surface Plant Asphalt Composite material Rectangle

·
Registered
238 Posts
I’m no expert. I see the leaves falling off trees there. Are you in the north? What’s gonna happen when that water under the slab freezes? My guess it will expand and possibly crack the concrete, then when it thaws, over many seasons, it will sink and just keep eroding under it. My uneducated DIY fix would be to rent a concrete saw and slice lines into it to the nearest edge.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
you cant squigee and play right away, you squigee and wait 30 minutes and play, but that also only works if the sun is out. the kids go out to play several times a day, its not something they can really do on their own at this age. and looking for a solution that would also have us look in our backyard and not see a puddle about 30% of the time.

yes im in the north, but the concrete is 14 years old, so the freezing puddles dont seem to be an issue.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I was thinking make a 4 foot x 10” hole or so , fill it with drainage pebbles and then put some sort of drain cover on it. Or making some more expansion joints .

·
Concrete & Masonry
3,919 Posts