DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am pretty new to working on water heaters. My water heater is a Whirlpool and is pretty old. (2010) But I was trying to drain it so that I could clean out all the old sediment and rust that I am sure is in it. But I ran into a problem with the cold water inlet valve. It looks like the last plumber who worked on it must've put the valve on wrong because the furnace tube is right in the way as I need to turn it off in order to drain my tank from what I've read. So my question is what will be the easiest way to switch that valve out or fix it? I tried for a minute to loosen that nut so I could possibly move the valve to the bottom so I could maybe turn it off that way but then water started leaking. Thank you and sorry if this is a dumb question.

·
A "Handy Husband"
12,329 Posts
Remove the handle and close valve with vise grips.

Sent from my Lenovo TB-X606F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thank you I didn't think of trying that. I don't think my water heater has been drained in at least 8 years. Would it be safe to attempt to drain it or since its been that long should I just buy a new one? The reason I wanted to drain it is because its been having a lot of knocking/popping sounds lately

·
Registered
288 Posts
11 yo Whirlpool? Replace it now so you won’t have to do it in an emergency situation. Draining it now won’t do much good anyway as the sediment will stay in the tank as the draining water channels through it. Rich from TOH has a good video on this. Unless you disconnect the plumbing so you can shake up and suspend the sediment, draining does very little, especially after so many years.

·
Registered
9,211 Posts
Turn off the water heater heat before draining.