DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

Have a standard "under the sink" RO water system.

In addition to the usual filters (eg the 3 big ones and membrane), I have an Inline PH stabilizer (Pentek GS10) and a Carbon post-filter (Atoll CK-2586C). The water tastes a little bland so I just bought a mineralizer (Geyser).

1. are these last two filters necessary?

2. Is the mineralizer the last filter before the faucet. From the "blue" tube I assume yes. But just checking

Any other advice?

Thanks!

·
Registered
37,459 Posts
Why are you using A R/O filter?
Of course it taste bland, your taking all the minerals out of the water.

·
Registered
1,896 Posts
I am far from an expert on water filters. Your set up sounds fine to me. I would put the polishers last inline as you stated. Do you have fluoride in your system? I believe you need a special filter to remove most of the fluoride. I would also add shower filters because you will still be getting a lot of chlorine while you shower as well. Or a nice whole house filter but they can be very expensive. I filter water I get from a spring thru a Berkey filter. As for your inline ph stabilzer(polisher) sounds okay , I am still up in the air on anything that changes the ph of the water. I would never go above 8.0 on drinking ph. Anything higher than that it acts more like a drug. I also would avoid anything that adds a chemical to the water to change the ph.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks
The set-ups I have seen (online) subsequent seem to place the Mineralizer before the carbon filter. Does anyone know if this is correct?

I guess I am not sure about the PH stabilizer and if that's needed. If I keep it then I I feel I h=will have too much "filter" if you know what I mean and it will slow down the process and flow.

Any other help out there?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·