DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm a beginner in using a drill and planned on mounting my 70-lb. TV in my bedroom's concrete wall. The TV mount bracket that I bought included #12 lab bolts (6.3mm diameter) and 10mm plastic anchors. So I bought a 10mm drill bit for my drill and began drilling at 4 points in my wall. Here are my questions:

1. When you use a 10mm drill bit to drill, should you expect a hole that is exactly 10mm? I measured the 4 holes I drilled and I got 11mm, 11mm, 11.5mm, and 12mm :(
2. When I inserted the 10mm plastic anchors and try to screw in the lag bolts, the anchors just don't grip the concrete and so they just rotate together with the screws. When hammering them in, should they go in the holes easily or have a bit of a resistance?
3. How do I remedy my situation? Can I perhaps buy 12mm anchors and bigger screws? Would 12mm anchors fit in the holes I made or can I force them to go in by using a hammer or something?
4. What screw gauge should I be getting for 12mm anchors?
5. Also, while I was drilling I noticed that at maybe around 60mm-80mm in the drill bit just went though which means that I drilled into a hollow section of the concrete. Is this fine? Would that length be enough for the plastic anchors to grip onto when they expand when the screws are in? Is there a trick to determine how exactly deep are the holes before the hollow part?

Sorry for the noob question and I'm really hoping for your help. Thanks.

· Naildriver
23,129 Posts
It sounds as if you drilled into a CMU (Concrete masonry unit) or concrete block wall, not solid concrete monolith. Can you confirm? Can you post a picture of what you have done?

· Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It sounds as if you drilled into a CMU (Concrete masonry unit) or concrete block wall, not solid concrete monolith. Can you confirm? Can you post a picture of what you have done?