DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife wants me to install a retractable garbage can on one underside of our sink.

I've already purchased a unit from the brand Simplehuman and when I went to check the fit, the elbow under the left side of the sink is about 2 inches low (see the yellow arrow).

I've searched on some forums and like usual, there are proper and half-assed ways to get this done. Being a complete noob at plumbing, I was wondering if anybody would know how I could tackle this job?

Thank you kindly

·
Registered
37,409 Posts
Reactions: mrrhtuner

·
A "Handy Husband"
13,369 Posts
Shorten the 2 sink tailpieces and raise the horizontal pipe and trap up. I would also add an AAV to your non confirming S trap.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'd remove everything there and start over plumbing it sort of like this. (picture the layout turned 180 deg. )
The whole thing can be done with slip fit fittings instead of glued like you have, also can be PVC not ABS as in your picture. (ABS is the black pipe)
https://www.google.com/search?q=dou...OAhWGqR4KHb77AVsQsAQIGw#imgrc=M2znGRSeyAAJ6M:
Thanks for the reply and the photo. That does seem like it would give enough clearance for the garbage and storage, would work well it seems.

Shorten the 2 sink tailpieces and raise the horizontal pipe and trap up. I would also add an AAV to your non confirming S trap.

Looking at these reply's, I don't know why I didn't think of raising the main horizontal pipe and shortening the sink tailpieces.

Now I've seen this AAV/Vent stuff identified in certain posts but there is always some kind of negative comment(s) regarding it.

I understand that it would go at the end of the horizontal pipe just before the P-Trap but is there a reason why I should add it when everything seem's to flush fine?