DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I picked up a bottle of floetrol when buying paint. I have never used it before, but had heard good things.

I added 1 tbsp (0.5 fl oz) to a full gallon of BM Flat (their standard contractors stuff, not Aura or anything fancy), and stirred for quite some time to get it to blend in (the paint colour is a rich brown).

I go to cut in, and it is like smearing a watery mud puddle over the wall! It is ridiculously thin. I don't know how else to describe it. It isn't covering anything.

I am so very confused! I have been slowly painting the interior of our home with this same brand/type of paint (without using floetrol) and it has never been like this.

From what I understand, 0.5 fl oz is a tiny amount of floetrol, as I have read you can stick 1/2 pint in 1 gallon of paint. Is this the floetrol's fault, is there something otherwise wrong with the paint, or is it something I'm doing wrong?

I am just baffled! I don't know what to do. I've just ruined an entire can of paint :(.

·
Registered
1,646 Posts
ive used it before and it worked great. i added 8oz per gallon. I was using it on trim paint so i could get a better finish. I've never needed it with flat paint only the satin finish trim paint and it was BM Impervo latex.

·
Retired Moderator
25,769 Posts
Something went wrong---I use it to thin paint for trim---never a problem---

---BM paints a easy to use out of the can----never needed Flotrol for wall paint.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the replies.

What could have gone wrong? I really did just add a tablespoon full, and not a drop more. Do I need to stir it for a very long time? I just stirred until completely mixed by sight, maybe 1-2 minutes.

I checked for an expiration date on the floetrol, and see none.

Is it possible that there was/is something wrong with the paint, ignoring the floetrol?