DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
I am new to electrical work but have looked all across the internet and am unsure of how to solve this problem. I am hoping you can provide me with some direction.

I am replacing a 660LAG from Pass & Seymour with a Lutron MACL-153M-WH Maestro digital dimmer. I expected this to be a painless process until I found the wiring configuration on my 660LAG.

Based on what I've seen, it's typical to have 3 wires connected to this light switch, however in my case there were 4.

So, when I tried to replicate the configuration on the LAG660 on the Lutron the dimmer did not get any power. However, the dimmer did get power when I plugged something into an outlet directly below the switch.

Ideally, I would like the Lutron dimmer to always be on and for the outlet to always have power supplied. I have tried fiddling with different wiring configurations but am not sure what I am doing to be honest.

If you have any suggestions I am really open to them. I can also provide more pictures if you think that would be helpful.

I appreciate you taking a look at my issue and hope to hear from you.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Sounds weird that you got power to the dimmer when you plugged something into the outlet...

It sounds to me like this is what's going on in your switch box:

(3) 14/2 wires coming in...
(1) feed
(1) switch leg
(1) feeding power to an outlet

Try wire nutting the 2 wires that were connected to the same terminal on the old switch with a 3rd "pigtail" wire coming off. These should be your feed in and out. Connect that pigtail to your switch. Connect the other black wire to your switch. This should be the switch leg going to the light. Connect your ground.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,356 Posts
Does the outlet below work with all the wires in the swicth box disconnected?

·
Super Moderator
8,875 Posts