Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi

I am building a very large double shed out of wood.

I am using telegraph poles which I have never used before; but it is a solid piece of wood for the base structure to hold everything up (corrogutted plastic sheeted roof).

My question is... how deep am I going to put the telegraph poles into the ground i.e. how deep? how much sand and cement do i use? how much ballas? etc etc.... and finally, how do i how up such a thing whilst the sand and cement is drying as it is so heavy, making sure the poles are level at the same time...

any tips for making the foundation will be appreciated...

I have attached pictures of my proposed build, a rough sketch.

ty, shabba :) (shed is 17 foot by 36 foot and 9 foot high)

Attachments

·
Master General ReEngineer
9,783 Posts
My question is... how deep am I going to put the telegraph poles into the ground i.e. how deep? how much sand and cement do i use? how much ballas? etc etc.... and finally, how do i how up such a thing whilst the sand and cement is drying as it is so heavy, making sure the poles are level at the same time...
Ayuh,.... Depth,... Around here it's 4' minimun for frost, 5' is common...
Where are you building,..?? What weather does it need to endure,..??
The amount of ballast relates to the weather,...
Around here, poles can be planted, Without concrete at all,...Drill, Set, Chink,+ start building...

To keep things true,+ square, use stringlines,...
The poles are held with diagonal bracing pinned to the ground, atleast 2 directions, 3 if necessary...

·
Too Short? Cut it Again!
9,634 Posts
Looks like you have nice solid timber. But where are you? Are there any building codes where you are? What are you going to be using this shed for?

·
Too Short? Cut it Again!
9,634 Posts
Around here, poles can be planted, Without concrete at all,...Drill, Set, Chink,+ start building...