DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Plumbing!
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!
I am new here and this is my first time posting. Nice to meet you all, and thanks for reading.

I am working on building a bathroom. I am in Arkansas and from what I can find, the codes here are based on the 2006 IPC.

Anyway, I drew up a diagram and this is what I came up with. Does it look ok, or maybe I am crazy? Feel free to advise, critique, laugh, scream, rant, or cry.

Are there some glaring problems that I am missing?
Are my vents in the correct place?
Are my fittings all right?
What placement/fittings would you use instead, where, and why?

Here are two pictures of the space. Below that are two pictures where I have superimposed my plans on top of them. Thanks!

room space.jpg

closet bend hole.jpg

·
Premium Member
11,833 Posts
Lyz, I don't plumb under IPC but we do have a gentleman @Ghostmaker, who drops in he is an inspector in a IPC state and has helped several members here. Maybe he will pop in in soon.
What you have drawn is almost okay per UPC code but I'd make a couple changes:
The end of line 3" cleanout should be accessible- raise it above the floor on top of the 3" san tee, then bush it to 2". I don't see why you need the first 90 either. Put the san tee and CO tee on top of the combo I would also move it closer to the out side wall so it is not behind the toilet.
Another thing I see, is the 3x2 combo to the shower and lav- lay it flat or at a 45 angle to gain elevation. My code does not require it to be orientated in the vertical.

Hope this helps some, welcome to our forum

·
Registered
6,180 Posts
First things first an isometric drawing would go a lot farther in my comprehension.
1. Fittings smaller than 3 inches can turn 90 degrees vertically or horizontally without long sweeps.
2. 3 inch 90 in a vertical does not require a long sweep. Only 3 inch or larger in horizontal to horizontal need long sweep fittings.