DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do they mean when they say "Not rated for structural use" ?

I am building a 3500 sq ft workshop with 16 ft walls.

I had planned to "cheat" a bit ... no OSB ... just put T1-11 right onto the 2 x 6 studs (Z trim between the two sheets).

Lowes offers two "LP SmartSide 76 Engineered Panel Siding" chooses.

One is $41 and says not rated for structural use.

The other has exactly the same specifications (thickness .. warranty ... ) but is $59 and says "rated for structural use".

What is the difference?

Does this matter in my application?

Home Depot offers a "DuraTemp" version but it is "real" plywood and gets bad ratings as far as warp ... but it is only $33 a sheet.

Any suggestions ?????

Mike

·
Remodel and New Build GC
9,899 Posts
Mike.... I AM NOT AN ENGINEER>>>so I won't be too precise.

But in general, building panel goods(sheathing, roof decking,flooring are rated for their "streanth' in different applications).

An engineer would determine the rating that you need....or rather in practice the eng would design your framing for the standard and available building panels available. He wiuld be considering flexural streangth in different building conditions, and shear and diaphram requirement.

In your case, I'm assuming T-111 is to be applied externally to your walls with no plywood/osb sub sheathing and installed vertically.

For instance 32/16 on plywood...would indicate that ply is rated for roofing on 32 centers applied accross rafters and 16 on center for subflooring...under standard normal conditions.

T-111 does not carry, as far as I know, any structural rateing, This means it clearly is not suitable for shear walls, and depending where you are, may not be suitable for corners.

I am guessing you don't have any engineering for your project, or this would be called out on your plans.