DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
kitchen remodel
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey. new member and first post here. short of the long; we bought a 120 yr old house 2 years ago. we knew it was gonna be work. we knew they had a bowing foundation wall they repaired, ancient electrical, horrible plumbing, and has had 2 additions- one in 1914 and one in 1958.

I've really enjoyed my growth as a DIYer but i don't know where to even begin fixing what I found yesterday. it doesn't make sense.

we're remodeling our kitchen and it's my first project of this scope... by far. we pulled up the flooring down to the old asbestos tile (hard stop), ripped out the cabinets, and knocked out the soffits. got it down to the old plaster walls (or lath in a few places) in 2 days. I knew going in that our floor isn't level. wasn't too worried about it until I noticed that the soffit running the direction of the slant was built with the grade. from the outside wall it was 15" tall and tapered down to 14" over an 80" length. the kitchen was added in 1914 and they dug out a second half of the basement. soffits were all newer construction though. probably 70's or so. idk.

so I take a closer look in the basement and suddenly I see the steel I-beam with a jack post right around 80" from the outside wall. steel I-beams didn't become a thing til the 60's so this beam had to have been put in after the original 1914 addition to replace a wooden one. it runs the length of the house and so should be one piece, right? but it's not. it can't be. because that first jack post at 80" is sitting under a full split in the steel I-beam. which means it had to have been installed as two. I guess they didn't weld or bolt the two pieces together though. so now there is a 1/8" to 1/2" gap sitting on top of the jack post plate and that isn't attached to the beam either. it's one of those older adjustable hollow ones which also aren't up to code anymore.