DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all I am in the process of building an extension, 16x24 to an existing
structure in coastal northern CA ( temperate but humid). It rarely gets below freezing in the winter but still seems cold as it is a wet climate then. The walls are 2x6 framing, 12ft high ceilings ( art studio)
I am curious about diy sprayfoam ( tiger/foam it green etc..) but have never seen it done, don't know anyone who's done it and their respective websites are a bit confusing.
Can anyone clarify a few things:
-what is the difference between closed and open cell?
-are these foams applied in one or several layers?
-how accurate are coverage estimates? how much additional surplus do you factor in?

Thanks in advance for your answers.
Cheers!

·
Registered
13,472 Posts
I'm not an expert on the foam material itself, but every time the option is presented the results seem to be, it's less expensive to just have someone do the job with the bigger machines. The DIY foam kits seem to be best suited for jobs that require foam but are not large enough to attract one of the big companies with a reasonable price.

The question really comes down to what you need for insulation. Is this for the walls or were you looking to foam the rafters, bottom of the roof deck?

Bud

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Bud. the problem is that where I live, rural and scarcely populated area, no one does the job..so if that is the route I will take I'll have to do it myself. The attich will be blown in insulation. Here I am just doing the walls.
Floor joist will be fiberglass

·
Registered
13,472 Posts
My business is energy efficiency consulting so along with some great volunteers here we can offer you some good advice. Using rigid foam is less expensive and far more DIY friendly. Cut to fit with a small gap and foam in place with the can foam.

Are you targeting code minimums? If so, what number?