DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
new at this and read through posts but really need more of a "how to". going over a vinyl covered drywall that has been painted. Wasn't going to use a backerboard. So, start with sealing the slate and letting that set. Then placement will be figured out, then what do I use as "thin set", how thick do I spread it and i bought plastic spacers....

·
Stuck in the 70's
2,205 Posts
First, what do you mean by "vinyl covered drywall that has been painted"? Is it a laminate or formica? A pic might help.
I'm not sure what you would have to do to this to get good adhesion.

Second, what size tiles are you using? I'm not an expert, but I've read that a premixed thinset or mastic can be used for a kitchen backsplash with smaller tiles. I don't know if this is OK for slate though. If Bud or Jaz show up and tell me I'm wrong, listen to them.
The size of the notched trowel also depends on the size of the tiles.

Lastly, if you've never done tiling before, pick up a book on the subject. If you're on a strict budget, check out your local library. Just make sure it is relatively current book. Products and procedures change.

·
Tileguy
6,050 Posts
Hi girls,

You know a slate backsplash can be a challenge to maintain. But, you're going for the "look".

Regular pre-mixed adhesive should not be used for natural stone tiles. There are a few that will work, read the label. It's best to use real thin set mortar, which only comes in a bag. You'll want to use modified thin set, spread with a 1/4x1/4 trowel.

However, please explain this vinyl covered painted wall. Doesn't sound like a tile-able surface to me. Are you talking about the stuff that comes that way from the factory? Either way, the wallpaper needs to be removed.

Slate is rarely cut accurately, so spacers may not help. Use wedges and/or pieces of the cardboard box.

Jaz

·
Tileguy
10,705 Posts