DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I have no real experience with this, but logically, I'm thinking I need to pack in a solid material under the exposed concrete on either side of the post. Use a temporary post on either side of the sinker. Remove the sinker and dig a deeper and wider base underneath and then probably replace the post itself. If this is correct, my only question is what is the best material to be using under the post and under the exposed surrounding concrete?

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
7,795 Posts
Yes, I agree with you, support the deck and redo the support. We don't know your location. So we don't know if you're dealing with heavy frost line etc., which will determine how deep and wide support should go.

Is it just that support that failed or are others questionable as well?

Can you post a couple pics from further away so the pros can see the whole deck. Thanks.

Pros will be along shortly with more advice/suggestions.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am in the southern interior of BC, Canada. It can get as cold as -10F here, but this year it hasn't been below 5F. I'm pretty sure I have noticed the post sinking moreso in the past 10 days or so with the snow melt which makes sense I suppose. There are 4 other posts and they all seem OK.

·
Civil Engineer
5,832 Posts
I can't tell from the photo if the post is sinking or the concrete around it is heaving. The best way to tell is to shoot grade using a level. If the post is sinking, that indicates a failure of the footing, which will then have to be replaced when you replace the post. If the concrete is heaving but the post is not sinking, then you may only need to replace the post (assuming the post is rotting).

·
Registered
10,726 Posts