DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I just signed up for this forum about ten seconds ago so I don't know the ins and outs of this yet(using the android app) so sorry if I'm doing something wrong.

Anyways! I have a bathtub/shower combo and the ceiling is cracking and pretty much looks like rust along the edge of where the showers ceiling meets the outside wall. Please excuse the grossness of the surrounding area.

Now. What my question is, is what is the ceiling made of? Its chipping off like its plaster or something. I have very little knowledge of bathroom stuff so bare with me. How does one go about fixing it?

Thanks in advance!
Kevin

Attachments

·
Registered
37,371 Posts
Where the 90 deg corner is may be rust from someone using a steel outside corner instead of a plastic one ( someone did not cover it with paint)
The rest is mold.
Is there a vent in this bathroom? If there is, are you leaving it on long enough?
If not there's you problum.

·
Registered
5,918 Posts
agree with joe moisture seem to be building in the room needa fan or need to leave existing one on longer or see if its even working....as far as wall and ceiling leave dry scrape prime and seal then good quality bath paint from sherwin williams..

·
Registered
5,918 Posts
may want to check to see if it s working properly ...does the mirror fog up when showering....maybe turn it on and hold a sheet a paper up and see if it pulls it up to it....

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
ben's plumbing said:
may want to check to see if it s working properly ...does the mirror fog up when showering....maybe turn it on and hold a sheet a paper up and see if it pulls it up to it....
It doesn't fog up or anything, if you really get steam going then you can watch it all be pulled right to the fan... I just did the paper test and it held it no problem.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
ben's plumbing said: