DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a reasonable quote from a certified firm. Reviews are good. Licensing and BBB all checks out.

The chimney is sandstone brick. They would be doing a rebuild from the roofline up.

There is a chance I might not be available to watch them work. Is this okay?

My schedule is totally unpredictable and the chimney needs to be fixed as we are heading into the wet season.

·
Banned
30,023 Posts
You hired a company that you vetted...right? Why would you think you would need to supervise them?

Have you seen examples of their work? Talked to past clients?
Its definitely not the "norm" for us, but some clients leave us a key under the mat and tell us to call them when we are done.

·
retired painter
11,570 Posts
Assuming you hired a competent company there shouldn't be any reason to supervise them. As a painting contractor I've had a few customers that watched my every move but the quality of the work on those jobs didn't differ any from the jobs where I never saw them.

It would be a good idea to give them your cell number or where you can be reached in case they run into any issues.

·
Registered
13,208 Posts
Worrying will give you those gray hairs. There is definitely a comfortable feeling knowing you have selected a good contractor, not a CL low bidder. Enjoy the benefits of your due diligence and relax and trust.

Bud

·
Registered
5,842 Posts
If you know how, why not do the job yourself.?

The money you save can buy the tools that can be sold when your done.

I read this a long time ago and I don't know the Authors name.

The person who knows how will always have a job
The person who knows why will always be their boss.

·
Registered
505 Posts
If this is a reputable firm then you should have confidence that they would rebuild it at their own expense if it is done wrong.
We're talking about a few feet of brick work. Any flaws should be easy to see.