DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
A few days ago I helped a friend take down a single wall in his home. It is a 1940’s home. We wore N95 masks and demolished a wall. Lots of dust and debris everywhere. The wall was made of old plaster and had weird insulation bits in it. The actual demo took about 30 minutes, but we were in the house for about 3 hours after that.
I am worried about possible asbestos exposure. Is that considered long term exposure? Have I just given myself cancer? I feel so bad that I agreed to help.
I have never done anything like that before. There were 2 other people there as well that didn't seem to give it a second thought.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

·
retired framer
51,233 Posts
Hello,
A few days ago I helped a friend take down a single wall in his home. It is a 1940’s home. We wore N95 masks and demolished a wall. Lots of dust and debris everywhere. The wall was made of old plaster and had weird insulation bits in it. The actual demo took about 30 minutes, but we were in the house for about 3 hours after that.
I am worried about possible asbestos exposure. Is that considered long term exposure? Have I just given myself cancer? I feel so bad that I agreed to help.
I have never done anything like that before. There were 2 other people there as well that didn't seem to give it a second thought.

Thank you
The people you hear about worked in the actual asbestos dust for years and it took years to show up as a problem.
You don't know that it was asbestos and you were wearing a mask, I have done a lot worse to no effect. I would not lose any sleep over it.

·
Registered
appliances
2,331 Posts