DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was given an 8 gallon shop vac for free, and it works great,

I removed the top to empty it, and saw the filter was very dirty so i purchased a new one,

While looking for the filter on amazon i noticed there were also bags available for my shop vac,

I didn't know this, i was just using it without a bag....Lol, i have never used one before, and mine didnt come with a bag,

So do i need to buy a new bag for it in addition to the filter?

·
Registered
5,125 Posts
If it has a pleated filter, you don't have to use a bag. Using the disposable bags means you don't have to clean the filter, which can be messy (and dangerous, depending on what you're vacuuming up), so some people like the convenience and cleanliness of using the bags.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If it has a pleated filter, you don't have to use a bag. Using the disposable bags means you don't have to clean the filter, which can be messy (and dangerous, depending on what you're vacuuming up), so some people like the convenience and cleanliness of using the bags.
thanks, it does have a pleated round filter

·
Naildriver
14,840 Posts
I just bought a 4 gallon Ridgid that will fit in my job box. It came with the canister filter as well as a bag. When cleaning after a drywall day, my canister filter is trashed. I think it is great idea to have the bag and save the $17 filter.

·
Registered
286 Posts
Here's a trick I learned from somewhere long ago... maybe even from here.

The bags for these things are expensive. Get some bags. Take the one you're going to install in the machine and cut one end off. Use sharp knife or scissors for a clean cut. Fold over the end and few times and then secure with a couple of medium size binder clips. When it fills up, just pull the clips out, empty it into the trash, and put it back together and re-install.