DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone. Newbie here!

Forgive me if this first post is long but I rather be thorough than to write a one liner no one will understand.

I purchased a house two years ago, it's a bungalow constructed in 1976. I decided it was time to remove all the walls and ceilings in garage and basement which started out mostly because the insulation is extremely poor and non existent in some areas. I'm also making a home theater as well in the process...I figured heck I deserve it!

THE HOUSE:
To put you in perspective however I need to state the way the house is built. The basement includes the double garage and is simply separated by a simple non load bearing wall except for a very small section. In the garage the load is one gigantic square beam that rests on the foundation and on the other side it is supported by six 2x4. From those 2x4 starts the other wall on the other side of basement. Hope that makes sense? Basically a large rectangle with support left to right.

In this other half of the basement, they had two openings in this load bearing wall, one to walk through and the other for a small bar (yes the 70s!).

THE DISCOVERIES:
The whole thing however was not aligned and looked weird to me. When I removed all the drywall it all made sense. Along the way someone removed the bar and decided to really open up the rest of the wall. Scared or not knowing exactly how, instead of building a temporary wall and dealing with it, they took some headers and two metal posts and stuck it right in front of the load bearing wall and then broke off (yes broke off the wood was ripped to shred and not even cut) the 2x4s of the load bearing wall.

THE PLAN