DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Nathan, after our being hit with storm Sandy, we at the home depot I work at have sold countless generators.

Let me start by saying I am not an electrician but I do have extensive knowledge about the subject. I have heard many ways to connect a generator to the panel and many are wrong and un-safe.

I try to educate my customers to do it the right way or hire an electrician. Anyway one of my most recent questions I have is this.

When I you install a Reliance or any other brand transfer switch a short section of greenfield is supplied with the switch. You pull the wires from the transfer switch into the panel knockout and secure it. The wires from the transfer switch are labled in pairs black and red A-A, B-B,
C-C and so on. you are instructed to remove the existing wire from the breaker and place the RED wire in the breaker then connect the black wire to the branch circuit with a wire nut. I have been recently told that you cannot splice a wire in the breaker panel. If this is true, what do you do. Most of my customers are on Long Island, New York. Please advise, Frank

·
Banned
17,158 Posts
First and foremost, you cannot tell your customers how to do electrical work, due to you are not licensed, and you are placing a huge liability on not only yourself, but your store manager, store, company and stock holders. That means if you tell a customer how to do something as a unlicensed person, you can be held responsible if it comes back, that they either kill or injure themselves, or burn down theirs or someone else's structure, from the information you gave them.