DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i'm a computer programmer but when it comes to electrical stuff I have no clue what I'm doing. I'm trying to figure out the safety of my soon-to-be server farm setup.

I have a room where I want to run a few computer servers totaling about 1760 watts 24/7. My biggest concern is the 1250W server. Will my outlets handle it? How can I check? I just used a kill-a-watt with a 1875W blow dryer and its actual usage was about 1519W.

Does this mean I could use about 1500W 24/7 safely? I would then move the smaller servers to another room, if this makes a difference?

Thanks!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I took some pictures, I'm guessing I need to figure out which circuit my server room is connected to right?

I don't know how to verify this without turning off each circuit right now, so could we assume the lowest... 15 amps?

Attachments

·
Registered
37 Posts
... a few computer servers totaling about 1760 watts 24/7. My biggest concern is the 1250W server.
First, what was the source of that 1760 watt number? Are those nameplate numbers? Or did you actually measure the servers while in operation elsewhere? The reason I'm asking is that nameplate values are typically overstated by about 50%. That applies on Dell, HP, etc. If those are nameplate values, you'll be able to get by on quite a bit less. Our nicely-tricked-out Dell R710s, for example, generally run less than 500 watts.

And don't forget the UPS/surge suppression. If they're servers, you'll want them to stay up, at least through the momentary power glitches.

·
Licensed Electrician
4,352 Posts
Are you using UPS's for these servers as well?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6