DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the need to get DC power for a wireless Samsung IP camera. Please understand I am by no means an electrician and am just looking for advice.

Existing today is a old bullet camera that has coax with 18 guage twisted pair wire that provides the power needed for the old camera. The coax/twisted is hidden and I have no access to replace this wire. The coax/twisted pair terminates downstairs near the breaker box. I have two solutions that I am considering.....

1. - Run 110 along the 18 guage wire and hardwire the AC-DC converter at the camera location. To me this doesn't sound 'safe'....although christmas tree lights are probably 22 gauge and they run 110. I would not create an outlet at the camera - this would be completely hardwired - so there would be no chance to plugging in a toaster and frying the wire!!! I assume I could install a dedicated 5 amp breaker at the breaker box for this if needed?

2. Safest method - Transform AC-DC at the termination point near the breaker and push DC approx 150 feet? (just a guess....I honestly I don't know how this wire snakes through the house to the existing camera location). This seems to be the safest method but I am concerned about loss of voltage/power which would eliminate this option as viable.

FYI the camera draws a maximum of 6.7 watts and is a Samsung SNH-V6430BN.

Thanks for any advice you could give me.

Greg

·
Registered
10 Posts
Not an electrician here. Siamese RG 59 cable consists of regular rg 59 coax plus twisted pair of 18 guage wire. So your setup is standard except maybe the 18 guage is separate cable. Power supply is typically injected into the line far away from the camera (e.g., near your DVR). Although I am sure there are limits, within a house there should be no problems in your situation injecting standard dc camera power.