DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok embarrassing, yes. But I am a college student who is inexperienced in construction.

I'm trying to build a make-shift sound-booth. I've got foam boards, and insulation.

I'm going to use the foam boards to "sandwich" the insulation, such that the insulation goes between the foam boards.

I want to secure the sandwich. I bought rope but realized that knots and rope don't really keep the insulation inside the sandwich.

I want to use a belt that can tighten and secure the sandwich. But I don't know where to buy one.

I'm looking for inexpensive materials... like a hook that tightens attached to a rope, or something like that. Basically something you can "pull tight" and secure.

Thanks for your help!

·
Super Moderator
14,479 Posts
Ok embarrassing, yes. But I am a college student who is inexperienced in construction.

I'm trying to build a make-shift sound-booth. I've got foam boards, and insulation.

I'm going to use the foam boards to "sandwich" the insulation, such that the insulation goes between the foam boards.

I want to secure the sandwich. I bought rope but realized that knots and rope don't really keep the insulation inside the sandwich.

I want to use a belt that can tighten and secure the sandwich. But I don't know where to buy one.

I'm looking for inexpensive materials... like a hook that tightens attached to a rope, or something like that. Basically something you can "pull tight" and secure.

Thanks for your help!
How about something like this.

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Sounds like strapping it together is going to crush the insulation in the middle. I'm assuming it's fiberglass batts...

They make nuts/bolts that have flanges on both sides. The nut is actually a hollow tube that has threading on the inside and a flange to catch the material. Kind of like the attachments for chair seats. Cheap and effective.