DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The present state of my home is that I have all of the knob and tube eliminated on the first floor and basement. I have a new subpanel in the master bedroom and I have new circuits in place with cable going up into the attic terminating in junction boxes. But all of the second floor is run off of knob and tube wiring except for the bathroom (there is 1 fixture still on knob and tube wire) and 1 of the light fixtures. The second floor ceiling has had R-11 insulation installed, for the time being I've pulled it back off of all wire.

I don't have the time yet to pull cable for all of the wall receptacles, but I can run new cable to the lights and I could put in junction boxes where the K&T drops down to the receptacles, then I can come back and pull new romex cables when I am able to get to it, but for the time being with winter coming I want the attic insulation in place (I intend to put a layer of R30 unfaced insulation over the existing layer.

What does code say about this approach? Do I need to maintain some distance from K&T to insulation or something? Any suggestions or tips to bear in mind?

·
Registered
531 Posts
Definitely not my area of expertise, but how hard would it be to just complete the wiring work before the insulation? As we've all surely seen, the job left almost done tends to stay that way far longer than we plan. I'm sure it will feel really nice to have it all done and insulated by the time it gets cold out.

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #3