DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not an HVAC professional just a home owner so please excuse if this question is far fetched.

An HVAC professional told me i have a return air problem for the 2nd floor.

On the first floor there is a huge long 30" return grate. The 2nd floor has a return but it's a regular size vent probably 12x6 size i think,

Can i cut the wall longer and put a larger grate for the return or do i need to make the whole duct all the way down larger to suck the air from the second floor. It appears in the basement they used the floor runs as the duct...i ordered a camera online to look down the return to see if anything is blocking it. I stuck the camera from my phone on video mode to look in a little and seems you can see under the floor from in the duct so looks like there is not a liner in the wall.

·
Administrator
42,396 Posts
Will need to open another wall cavity to gt more return air from the second floor. 16" OC 2x4 wall is only good for a max of 145 CFM.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok thank you.

I thought i could extend the return vent on this one all the way to it's max of 16" and then make another return somewhere on the second floor.

In the basement, and i've read this on other sites, that it's not up to code, but it seems previous to my ownership they have used the floor joist runs in the basement as the duct work for the returns. One coming from the first floor in the living room and the other is the one that is on the second floor.

There is a third huge 30 inch long return on the first floor and the return pretty much goes right into the unit.

I'm trying to think of where to put this extra return. If i put it into the second bedroom, it brings me down over the garage where the return would come down it would be where the garage door opens.