DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning!

I recently purchased a house, and had the entire house rewired to remove knob and tube wiring. At the time of the wiring,I hadn't picked out any fixtures yet, so I figured I would just install them on my own later (which I have plenty of experience with). I have already replaced most of the original fixtures, but hadn't tackled the living room ceiling fan yet. Well we had a bit of a heat wave and I turned on the fan, and it was rocking so hard, it was probably a minute from flying off the ceiling. I picked up my new fan, took down the original, but am dumbfounded on how I will get another ceiling fan up there.

First of all, there is no above access. From what I can tell, originally there was a 2X4 mounted between the joists and a box was attached to that. The ceiling has multiple layers, making it considerably thicker than a normal drywalled ceiling. First there is a layer of plaster and lath, and then over the plaster is strapping followed by tongue and groove ceiling tile. So it is about 2 1/4" from the bottom of the joist to the face of the ceiling.

When the electrician ran new wire they cut a large hole through the middle of the 2x4, about 6" long and 3" wide, basically making it structurally useless. then they used a plastic ceiling box that is like half pancake, half extra deep, where the pancake part would attach directly to the joist and the deep part would be right up against the side of the joist. It would have been a good solution if the ceiling was a normal thickness and if they mounted it to a joist, but they mounted it to strapping (which is mounted to plaster and lath). So it was pretty clear why this fan was rocking it's way out of the ceiling.