DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've just moved into a new flat and discovered original parquet flooring underneath the existing.There appears to be some adhesive left behind (see attached photo) and I was hoping to get some advice on how to remove it.

Any pointers would be amazing.

Thanks

Attachments

·
retired painter
11,342 Posts
They say parquet can withstand one sanding/refinishing. IMO all you can do is try a small area to see how it goes. Not sure it's worth the effort.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You could be right on the effort. The trying a small area is a great idea and I think that's what I'll do. Would you say the adhesive could come off simply with sanding?

·
Very Stable Genius
4,589 Posts
I'm no expert on this, but I'd try to remove the worst of the adhesive/backing
with a heat gun and scraper before attacking with a sander.

·
Registered
413 Posts
I agree with using a heat gun and scraper to remove the majority of the old adhesive. It will save on sand paper. Once you've scraped off all that you can, the rest will sand off. In most cases when floors have adhesive like this, it actually acts as a pretty good barrier and protects the wood beneath pretty well. So once you get it off and sanded, it should finish up nicely.

·
Registered
4 Posts
You'll go through a ton of sand paper if you try using it on the glue. Heat and scrape is by far the best, albeit not the easiest, method of prepping the subfloor. It's some hard work, but it's much more cost efficient

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I actually gave the heat gun and scraper a go yesterday and it does work well. It'll be long process but you're right the wood is really well preserved. The end result should come up great. Really chuffed!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Incase anybody comes across this in the future I have found the solution!