DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi friends I was about to cook on my stove today and on accident locked the oven door instead of hitting the surface unlock button. In my defense the buttons look almost identical and I was on coffee number one lol

Anyway for whatever reason this tripped the breaker and when I turned it on the stove has power but only enough to make the clock work. I plugged the washer/dryer combo into the receptacle to try it and the washer runs but not the dryer. I'm no electrician but I think this is a double pole 25x2 50amp and one side is bad. Would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks much.
Electrical wiring Cable Gas Electrical supply Electronic engineering

·
Super Moderator
17,555 Posts
It does sound like only one side reset. Turn the breaker off and back on.

Both sides of the brea,er are 50 amps, not 25 x 2.

Reactions: AZNH

·
Naildriver
19,951 Posts
How did you plug in a dryer which is 30 amps into a 50 amp receptacle? Are they adjacent to each other? Why would you do that? Do you have a multimeter? Can you check voltage from the hots to the ground? Plug the stove back in and hit the "oven lock" switch and hold it for 3 seconds.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How did you plug in a dryer which is 30 amps into a 50 amp receptacle? Are they adjacent to each other? Why would you do that? Do you have a multimeter? Can you check voltage from the hots to the ground? Plug the stove back in and hit the "oven lock" switch and hold it for 3 seconds.
Thanks. The washer/dryer combo has been plugged into a 50amp for years without issue. A local electrician installed it. I've got the oven to unlock, but still "the stove has power but only enough to make the clock (and unlock) work".

·
Super Moderator
17,555 Posts