DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Carrier AC stopped working several days ago. I could hear a light humming from the outside unite, but would not kick on. By the way, the last few years I have had to use a screwdriver to spin the blades to "kick start the season". That no longer works. So I replaced the capacitor and fan motor. Now, I do not hear any humming OR spinning. Whats my next troubleshoot? or any thoughts on wiring I may have botched? This is my first time trying to fix AC on my own.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I could feel some cool air and could hear some humming before. But not since I replaced the capacitor and fan motor.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I think my husband has one. I will look in the shop. Can you tell me what it should read? or where to check it?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I added pics to "album" on this site. Don't know if that's the right spot or not. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
511 Posts

The guys here will need to know where each of these wires go to in order to see if the cap was wired correct. There is a C. , Herm and Fan marking on top of that cap.
Any information about the fan motor wiring will help also.

·
Registered
38 Posts
**Whatever you do, PLEASE be careful. Always verify power is off before messing around in the electrical cabinet. Capacitors will also hold a charge as well. Make sure you discharge them [with power off] by placing an insulated screw driver across the terminals to be safe**

It's a little hard to trace the wires based on the pic but, with a dual cap, you should have 3 wires coming from the motor (typically). From the motor:

- One wire should be for the capacitor (labeled Fan on the terminal of the capacitor and the wire is usually brown, not always).

- The other wire should be will be the hot wire going to one side of the contactor