DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is what I would like to do:

My shed is about 100' from my house and I would like to be able to turn the outside light on from the house.... without digging a trench and running a wire.

Are there any products out there that would allow me to do this? I did see a few on line but most of them seemed too cheap to be reliable and almost all of them had terrible reviews.

Any info would be appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
9,445 Posts
X-10 remotes with a key fob to turn the lights on and off.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
I have been using X-10 for many years with good success.

I currently use X-10 wireless remote to turn on my pool light, a fountain, and backyard lighting. The wireless receiver / X-10 controller is physically located in the house - the handheld wireless remote is typically located in the house or on the back patio. X-10 modules are located at each controlled device.

You don't need to do the wireless X-10 for your application, a table top or other controller unit would do.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys, I'll check it out.

100 feet isn't a problem? It's wide open yard right from the back deck to the shed.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
X-10 provides signaling over the power lines - as long as the shed with power module and house with controller are on the same breaker box, it should work.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I'm guessing you have found a solution by now, but for anyone else that stumbles across this, check out Insteon. I'm using their stuff all over my house, and love it.

·
E2 Electrician
5,655 Posts
X-10 provides signaling over the power lines - as long as the shed with power module and house with controller are on the same breaker box, it should work.