DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

I just bought a house a few months back and now that summer is around the corner I’ve shifted my focus to working on the backyard. I’m somewhat new to home repairs but I wanted to get advice about my back deck. The previous owner had a hot tub that they took with them, leaving me with this giant hole in my deck. I’d like to cover it but want to make sure I’m doing it correctly and the surface is fully supported. Am I able to lay new joists underneath without pulling up any of the existing deck boards? I’m not overly concerned about the new wood matching because I think an outdoor rug will eventually be going over the space. Any suggestions are helpful! Here are a few pictures.

·
Registered
4,706 Posts
I think you'll need to post pictures or sketch of the framing, post locations, and joist & beam sizes to get useful answers regarding how to redo the framing.

·
In a little over my head
1,367 Posts
Start out by removing the short deck boards that run into the hole. Once the joists/framing is exposed, the solution should be pretty easy to figure out.

·
retired framer
51,029 Posts
Just line it with another for nailers and hang joists with HDG hangers and nails.
They make angled hangers right and left, you will need equals of each of the the corners.

·
Registered
4,706 Posts
Just line it with another for nailers and hang joists with HDG hangers and nails.
I think you're making some assumptions about the framing there, Neal. Without seeing or knowing how those support pieces around the perimeter of the hole are attached/supported, I wouldn't be confident hanging new joists from them.

·
retired framer
51,029 Posts
I think you're making some assumptions about the framing there, Neal. Without seeing or knowing how those support pieces around the perimeter of the hole are attached/supported, I wouldn't be confident hanging new joists from them.
Yup