DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to work with a a product that I've never worked with before: PVC! This is totally foreign to me. I've done a bunch of reading with manufacturer's installation recommendations and working properties, however I would really like to hear the scoop from those of you who have worked with various types of PVC trim, door casings, etc.

I have a new roof structure and remodeled end wall that is about to get trimmed out. I have to trim around windows, along the roof line, all the fascia boards, and along the brick veneer. I'm also going to re-case a door that is rotten. It will be trimmed out in the same PVC. I'm considering PVC sheet for soffits, however I may go a different direction, since they don't have the weather exposure that the trim and fascia see and I would really like to T&G the soffits and eaves.

I would love to hear some tips and tricks for working with this stuff. Fastening, filling screw/fastener holes, gluing, caulking, etc. Also, anything you can recommend for installing this in colder weather (above freezing) would be appreciated. I noticed the high coefficient of expansion. I'm sure that will play into the required gaps and whatnot.

Thanks! Looking forward to any input! This is completely foreign to me!

Scott

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
OH! And on a side note, I did a search and didn't see much, but "PVC" by itself doesn't seem to search well. If there is another thread on this subject, please point me to it!

Thanks guys!!

·
journeyman carpenter
3,480 Posts
for cutting, standard wood blades work fine with it just make sure your wearing a dust mask if your diong alot of cuts.

fastening wise, use stainless steel gun nils other wise the nails will rust and bleed

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
for cutting, standard wood blades work fine with it just make sure your wearing a dust mask if your diong alot of cuts.