DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a question which may not be easy to answer....or if it can, more info is needed. But here it is:

I am new to this 8 year old home. It has the benefit of being heated by both a 'pump and dump' geothermal in floor heat system as well as a typical forced air propane furnace system. I have been heating the home primarily using the in floor geothermal system and using the propane furnace only as a backup in case the geothermal can't keep up. Currently, I am having a problem with one bedroom zone not heating properly. As I try to figure out why, it struck me that perhaps with propane prices being much lower now than a few years ago, perhaps I might be better off using that system as the primary heat source this year.

What do you think? Is there a way to figure out which is most economical to run?

· Registered
16,341 Posts
There is so much price gouging going on with propane and the cost so erratic we might have better luck putting tooth paste back in the tube than attempting to calculate a cost comparison. Example: wholesale propane is around $0.36 at present in some areas with retail being anywhere from $0.86 to $2.80 / gallon.

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
you would have to post your fuel prices, heatpump model number, propane furnace efficiency rating.
fuel prices:
Propane prices in our area are: $1.19/gallon. Electric prices in the winter are: .0677/KWH

heatpump model number:
There are 2 heat pumps. One is Florida Heat Pump WW036-1USC and the other is Florida Heat Pump WW048-1USC.

propane furnace efficiency rating:
It is a York Affinity 9.S which I believe has a rating of 92%.

· Civil Engineer
5,832 Posts