DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, first off I'm not an electrician but am looking to DIY a power solution for my wood shop which is about 90' from my outside power panel to the house.

I have a generator with a 30A output which I think is more than enough to run the equipment I now have with plug and disconnect as needed to the devices. I have purchased a 90A indoor panel and a 30A Generator Input for the outside connection to the generator. I will drive a ground rod near the generator input outlet if needed.

I don't want to run the shed off of the house power as a sub panel.

Is what I'm planning on doing safe and are there any recommendations?

CD

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Question on grounds

The input is a four wire with a built in ground and my feed also is a four wire. Should I remove the ground built in and tie in the power ground and then ground the generator off of the ground lug on it?

·
Registered
37,220 Posts
That's going to get old real quick having to hear that generator running every time you use that shed, and gas is not cheap.

·
E2 Electrician
5,655 Posts
The input is a four wire with a built in ground and my feed also is a four wire. Should I remove the ground built in and tie in the power ground and then ground the generator off of the ground lug on it?

Stop thinking.. :)

You are supplying four conductors from the generator to the sub-panel, keep the grounds and neutrals separate in the sub-panel.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It actually quite quiet and will run over 12 hours straight on 5 gals of gas. I'd like a solar/wind solution but cost is prohibitive. Its a now solution until I can afford to pay someone to tie it in later to the main feed or to the water pump power connection out back if that's possible.

·
Registered
90 Posts