DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a metal roof in my shop and I'm putting in a wood stove. I am using a rubber boot flashing around the triple wall. My question would be. Should I put put the chimney through the flattest part of the metal roof or on the ribs. Anyone have suggestions or experience in this matter?

·
Registered
2 Posts
In New Zealand we have lots of metal roofs. (I design houses and sheds for a living). For a stove pipe we always make a flashing first that goes over the metal roof. This runs from under the ridge and past the stove pipe by a foot or two. This flashing is made wider than the stove pipe by a rib or two each side, and the flashing folds down over the rib each side, and is cut and folded into the pan at the bottom.
Then the hole is cut in the flashing for the pipe
Then you put the boot flashing on top of the flashing.
We always put the boot flashing at 45 degrees to the roof (diamond shape)

·
Registered
290 Posts
In New Zealand we have lots of metal roofs. (I design houses and sheds for a living). For a stove pipe we always make a flashing first that goes over the metal roof. This runs from under the ridge and past the stove pipe by a foot or two. This flashing is made wider than the stove pipe by a rib or two each side, and the flashing folds down over the rib each side, and is cut and folded into the pan at the bottom.
Then the hole is cut in the flashing for the pipe
Then you put the boot flashing on top of the flashing.
We always put the boot flashing at 45 degrees to the roof (diamond shape)
Like this:

Attachments

·
Roofmaster
3,731 Posts