DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I do maintenance at a school where a large tile company installed porcelain tile in the main office hallway. This job was a $20k job. The tile company demolished and removed the original vinyl tile and nailed backer board over the subfloor and poured leveler in one area. The tile that they recommended and installed is porcelain and has a relatively "raw" texture. The tile installer said that we'd be wasting our money in sealing the grout. That was surprising to me, but I'm not a professional tile installer and assumed he knew what he was talking about. The dust containment was also abysmal and dust carried through the entire building. Just icing on the cake I suppose.

After the job was complete, the floor had a noticeable haze and water rings that my coworker and myself had to scrub from the entire floor. We noticed slight cracks in a few of the tiles and when reinstalling the toe strip found that in a couple of places they hadn't reached close enough to the wall for the toe strip to hide the gap. We had measured and told them the maximum distance they had to play with.

The tiles are also not perfectly flush. I understand that this might just be the nature of tiling, but it's a big nuisance if you want to run a dust mop over a floor and sharp ridges and grout joints are snagging and collecting the debris.

My current issue is that I can't find a convenient cleaning solution. The texture of this floor makes it so that an ordinary mop will leave fibers and other debris. The floor is an abrasive that pulls material from the mop. The floor shows dirt and never really looks clean. It seems that some sort of auto scrubber, electric mop, or microfiber flat mop will be the only solution. Do you guys have any recommendations?