DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Paint sequence

1305 Views 53 Replies 13 Participants Last post by  jeffnc
I'm painting a section of the ceiling (flat white) and a section of the wall (yellow).

Should I paint the ceiling first or the wall first?

Is there a proper sequence?

Is it easier to tape off the ceiling or wall?
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

· Registered
306 Posts
Ok, I will have to buy one of those angle brushes.
Don't do it, your setting yourself up for some extreme frustration.

I get that some pros can paint an edge after years of experience but if you want laser straight edges get a Sure Line paint edger. With just a little practice you will get great results. I've used for 30 years and can edge a room in minuets, first time, perfectly straight and level.
Rectangle Liquid Font Plastic Magenta

· Registered
I am not a pro
830 Posts
I too start w/the ceiling. I also put ceiling paint a bit down on the wall, maybe 1".

I am not a pro. I am unable to cut a straight paint line to save my life.
A big PLUS-1 on the Shur-Line.
Tip... keep the rollers outta the paint.

Good luck...Don.

· Registered
306 Posts
You cant trust those sure-lines.
Why not, I have several of them and they work perfectly.

Some tips.

1, you only use the top 1 1/2" of the pad to paint with then paint the wall rolling into the edged color.
2, as noted keep the paint off the rollers.
3, do sweeps just below the top corner then move up to where the rollers contact the ceiling.
4, I like to keep my gap from the ceiling a bit more than where the pad sits on the handle, slide the pad down and add a piece of tape, it will be secure.

· Registered
9,181 Posts
Should I paint the ceiling first or the wall first?
Paint the ceiling first.

Is it easier to tape off the ceiling or wall?
Oh gosh, we don't want to have any tape involved here.