DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
534 Posts
If this is a certified installer for Carrier products, then you have a good chance of getting this resolved if the installing dealer is also good at troubleshooting the products. Get him back before the warranty runs out. Explain that the new system AC is not running as expected. I am not a pro but there are a number of reasons for poor AC. Just explain to him that if he cannot work out a solution that you will have to call "Carrier" to send one of their technical experts to assist the installer. If you don't get satisfaction from either, then its time to call an attorney and sue them both.

However, one thing you mentioned about is cooking. This can be considered as competition for AC due to excessive humidity and heat if its not properly directed outside via exhaust fans and closing off the door leading to the basement while cooking.
Was the house checked for heat gain and are you sure the ducts are properly sized? This is part of any AC installation job.

I went through a simular situation with a "Bryant" dealer and I contacted "Bryant" directly and explain the footdraging I was experiencing with the dealer. After no reply from them for two weeks, I emailed and called again stating that if they do not set up an appointment with me to come to my residence along with the installing dealer, that my next step was to see an attorney. That got their attention.
A Bryant techical representative called me back and ask for all the details of my problem and type of equipment installed. After hearing me out, the representative said he feels sure he knows what the problem is; but will wait until he sees the installation and put a test on the system before any recommendation.
The issue was resolved that day. All that was needed was a TXV (Thermal Expansion Valve) and a new upgraded thermostat.