DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Stuck in the 70's
2,208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A bit of history first. Our house was built in the early 70's. After we moved in we noticed a series of outlets on an exterior brick wall were out. It was fixed by our neighbor's Ex, (a GC, but not a licensed electrician). I don't know exactly what he found.
The same series of outlets went out again last night. After reading a few thread like this one I thought I would do a little exploratory surgery.
http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/outlets-garage-exterior-outlet-stopped-working-110306/

I'm a total electrical newbie, but I turned the breaker off (triple checked) and looked in each outlet one by one for any loose connections or anything obvious.

All of the other outlets had the ground wires connected to the box (red circle) except this one. This one had separated from the box and there was a scorch mark on the inside of the plastic cover where it had separated. None of the others had the green wire either. I assume this is what was done by my neighbors EX but I'm not 100% sure.

Where do I go from here?
Should I be looking for GFCIs in a house of this age?

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
22,444 Posts
Looks like the ground is connected to the neutral screws.

The original problem appears to be an open neutral. You neighbour created a very serious potential risk by connecting the ground to the neutral.
Put the green ground back on the green screw and connect to the box. Then go looking over the rest of the circuit for a disconnected neutral (white) wire. It could be in a working device box on the circuit.

·
I=E/R
2,052 Posts
I see a ground wire in the box and I see it is wrapped in paper so NM cable was used, at least that is what it looks like.
The electrical box looks rusty, do you think water is getting into it?