DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 724 Posts

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be rebuilding the wooden stairs that lead up to my apartment. I replaced the platform that was far more rotten in the fall. I have never built stairs before but I am not particularly anticipating any problems. My one main concern and question is about to properly attach the long diagonal piece to the wall. Most of the length will be anchored to cinder block. I know i need to be careful drilling cinder block so I am looking for suggestions. The last photo is what the previous owners used to anchor and it doesnt look right to me.

Attachments

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If it was mine I'd remove and replace the whole thing.
There should have been a 2 X 12 ledger at the top to attach the stringers to, there should have been three stringers, not just two, also there's no gripable hand railing.
Also many areas call for riser covers.
I'm going to be replacing everything except the platform. the Deck Platform is 3x6 and really is only to get into the apartment. No room to put furniture or anything I am not to concerned about the platform itself. I am replacing bad work that the previous owner left. While I am no expert I am trying to do everything up to local code. I had somebody help me design the platform and fix rot under the door frame in a small area in the fall. I dont remember why I didnt use the larger ledger but I had a reason.

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·