DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there everyone, I am having some issues with my kitchen sink. Before I write everything down I just want to say that this is my first time owning a home and my wife and I have life in the place for a little over 2 years so I am pretty inexperienced with this stuff.

The Problem: I cannot get the leak to reproduce itself by simply turning the water on or by draining a large amount of water. The baseboard of my kitchen sink is drooping downward and is always damp, secondly there is a trail of water on the ceiling of the basement (not finished) that eventually falls off onto the floor.

Some info about the sink: I have a dual sink with the left side being the disposal and the right side a standard sink. I also have a dishwasher attached to the sink that drains in the same outlet.

What I have done so far: I have dismantled the drain entirely and cleaned them out by running hot water through them (outside) before putting the pieces back together, so no clogs in either side. I have also cleaned out the disposal in the same fashion (yuck) and put it back into place.

I am not sure what steps to take next as this will be the biggest DIY project I have done and more than likely don't have the tools to handle it. I will attach pictures shortly to give everyone a visual of what I am seeing.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)

This is the baseboard for my kitchen sink

This is the intake for my dual sink

This is the drain pipe for my dual sink

This appears to be the drain for my sink that connects to the drain pipe of the sink

·
JUSTA MEMBER
16,375 Posts
Check how your dishwasher drain attaches to the drain, if it is a slow drain, the dishwasher will overpower it, and spill water everywhere.

Also , it looks like you have WHITE mold all over.

Get that remedied before you move in. :biggrin2:

ED

·
Registered
7,349 Posts