DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off, let me say I'm experienced with electrical circuits, wiring, and working on appliances. I'm not a licensed electrician but definitely not an amateur DIY either.

We just got a new electric oven to replace our old one. The wiring is 3-wire with each wire looking about 6awg. My problem is I cannot get the wires into their holes on the electrical "panel" on the back of the new oven. It looks like the holes are meant for 8awg. I know I can use connectors instead to secure the wires to their respective places but what type of connectors do I need to use? Would set screw lugs be ok? Thank you.
--
Tony

·
Journeyman Wireman
196 Posts
I think this is a valid question. How about a picture of the terminations at the appliance with the wire nearby for a reference? We could then discuss the merits ways to terminate the wire.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks Jupe Blue. Here's a picture of what I'm working with:

Yes, I've removed the set screws from the three terminal blocks.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
9,178 Posts
The oven is not made to be hardwired.
Those connections are made for a spade connector from a cord used to plug into a receptacle.
No matter what you try, you will never get that #6 connected to those screws!

·
Registered
630 Posts
Those connections are made for a spade connector from a cord used to plug into a receptacle.
Yes you need a cord..:yes:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Well, there are holes on the underside of the terminal blocks meant for hardwiring, and the directions also indicate this.

·
Banned
2,487 Posts
It is astonishing how many people have "licensed electrician" friends, or are going to have a "licensed electrician do the hook up", but just want to ask a few questions here, to be sure.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #10