DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apologize if this subject has been addressed before. I have a hanging light fixture in the dining area of my kitchen. I have owned the house since it was built in 2006. The position of the fixture was not an issue in the past, but we have decided to replace the existing kitchen table with a permanently mounted island for dining and food preparation.
The existing light fixture is off center by about 16 or so inches. We want a new light fixture that would be longer so that it would illuminate more of the table top. I am NOT a certified electrician, and I have a great respect for electricity in that we seldom interact with each other.

I probably know what I must do to center the fixture, but am hoping that there might be an easier solution. I thought about swagging the new fixture over, but the weight of the new fixture that we will need might be too heavy for a swag hook. If I did this I would definitely need to have the swag hook screwed into a ceiling joist rather than a spring toggle bolt.
If I did it the proper way, that would probably mean snaking romex from the existing ceiling junction over to where it should go. That would also mean cutting a new hole in the ceiling, securing the new junction box to the joists, then patching up the old box, mudding it and painting it.

Or, I could hire someone else to to it. Any suggestions? Thanks!

·
retired framer
59,756 Posts
Would you be in the same joist space? Any chance you would find the cable to the old light there?

You could install a new box that would support a fan and just use that to support the swag.

·
Super Moderator
9,984 Posts
You have answered your own question. That is the only two ways to do it. As far as the second one, you have to leave the box accessible in the ceiling and it couldn't be covered up.