DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to extend the coaxial cable in my family room to go across the hall into my living room. I don't want to have to fool with replacing what's there so I'm going to use a female-to-female coupler and just join the old cable with the new.

I intend to buy about 250 ft of RG6 coax cable and just cut it to the length I need. This means I'll have to cut the end off and replace it. Could someone please recommend the tools required to do this? Ideally, I'd like something simple and easy. Since I'm a novice, it should also be foolproof, if such a thing exists.

Also, does anyone knows of a website that has a good tutorial with pictures? I came across a few, but they contradicted each other and left me slightly confused.

I'd also appreciate recommendations on good brands of coax cable and the connectors. Is Lowe's and Home Depot usually the best place to buy the things I'll need, particularly the coax cable?

Oh, I'd really like white coax cable since it will blend in better as it's run across the hallway. If I can't find white, is it ok to paint parts of it white with spray paint?

Thanks in advance for the help. I want to make sure everything goes smoothly (it never does) and I don't trust my own judgement with what to buy.

· Registered
14,919 Posts
If you Google "twist on coax connectors" you will find some videos that show how to do this without the crimping tool.

Bud

· Registered
14,919 Posts