DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys listen i have never done any sand blasting before but just got a small bench top cabinet to do finishes on knives (i make custom knives) problem is it doesnt shoot much sand i poured the sand in the cabinet hooked up the gun to the air commpressor and then to the syphon hose and stuck that in the sand and went at it and it does spray A LITTTLE sand but no where what it should it would litterly take over a hour to do a 6 in knife at the rate it was going has anyone used these? any ideas why its not working? THANKS!

·
Retired Moderator
25,770 Posts
More info needed---

Most sand blasters, even small ones, use a lot of air---

How many CFMs( Cubic feet per minute) @90 pounds does your compressor put out?
what CFM is required by your small blaster?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i will go check i am pritty sure its enough its a large one 3 hp.....i think i figured out the problem tho just dont know how to fix it....i put the larger tip on and it started working a little it would burst fire real quick 1-2 seconds when i pulled trigger but wouldnt stay on but then i realised the syphon hose was completely clogged with sand i mean packed the sand is clean and dry so i dont know what could be causeing this

·
JUSTA MEMBER
19,129 Posts
That is exactly what I meant.

Did you get a new unit or a used, did it have instructions, if not can you get them from the manufacturer?

If there is nothing to stop the hose from gobbling a full volume , it is going to plug off quite fast, imagine a vacuum cleaner sucking a full pile of dirt by sticking the hose in the middle of the pile. same effect ,it plugs and you have to start at the edge and work slowly.

Same principle just a different apparatus.

Go online to the manufacturer to see their owners manual, and parts list.

ED

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·