DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

First off... i am a amateur and mad respect to carpenters... but i need help..

i have done a few projects, with simple cuts... this one, i think, was a bit more complicated for me.

i am building a new kitchen table, 60" round. i am working on the table top right now. 2x4x8 pines glued to together to form sections of the table top. With a 2x6x8 cross beam.

There are 4 sections, each section is getting 2x4s in a pattern. I cut the 2x4x8 into 4 equal parts. i.e. squares, and then cut on the diagonal and then criss crossed each diagonal piece.

when you look at the picture, there are parts where the two pieces are flush, and others where there is a gap. how do i fix this...

thanx in advance for the help

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
13,278 Posts
It looks like you're using framing lumber to build this table so that gap you're concerned about is only the beginning as the wood dries.

Call it character and finish your round table, it's going to be just fine.

·
Registered
37,459 Posts
No biscuit joints, or a Kreg tool, just glue?
What are you using to cut it?
Have to agree poor choice of material to make a kitchen table from, to soft, no jointed edges so the low areas that will be a night mare to clean.

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
lol... yes framing lumber.... poor choice, but my first table, i did want to try it first, before i spend more on expensive lumber.

being in canada, the thickness of S4S lumber 1" is only 3/4" at my local big box - so i would have to get two of them (glued), to get any thickness.

sorry, left out that detail, i am biscuit joining everything, first time, and i love it.

could i put the two pieces back to back and then run a circular saw across the diagonal to make the edges similar? (line up the back and bottom of course).

could i use wood filler? its too big of a gap i think, food or water would fall through